Department for Transport names its special representatives to Transport for London’s board

Clare Moriarty and Andrew Gilligan have been named as DfT's special representatives to the TL board.

In a written statement to Parliament, Secretary of State for Transport Grant Shapps has named the two Department for Transport (DfT) special representatives that have been appointed to the Transport for London (TfL) board.

Andrew Gilligan and Clare Moriarty will not only sit on TfL’s board, they will also be able to attend TfL’s finance and programme investment committees. Their appointment was agreed with the Mayor of London and TfL as part of the package of support that the DfT provided to TfL to help it through the Coronavirus (COVID-19) crisis, when fare income dried up and TfL found itself in financial trouble.

Another part of that agreement was that the DfT would carry out a review of TfL’s financial position and structure, the terms of reference for which have also just been published.

Clare Moriarty worked at the Department for Transport for six years (2009-2015) and was director general of the Rail Executive. She retired from being permanent secretary at the Cabinet Office in April 2020.

Secretary of State Grant Shapps.

Andrew Gilligan has advised the Prime Minister on transport matters for the last year and, before that, worked closely with TfL for three years, during which time he acted as Cycling Commissioner for London.

“I am pleased to also announce the appointment of the two government special representatives to attend the TfL Board,” Grant Shapps said in his written statement. “These positions required a specific skillset and have therefore been made through direct Ministerial Appointment.”

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.