Three new directors for Crossrail

Crossrail Limited, a wholly owned subsidiary of Transport for London (TfL), will deliver the Elizabeth line across and under London.

Crossrail Limited has announced three new appointments to its board. A wholly owned subsidiary of Transport for London (TfL), Crossrail is jointly sponsored by the Department for Transport and TfL to deliver the Elizabeth line. Services were due to commence through central London in 2018. However, this launch has now been delayed until 2020/2021.

Steven Livingstone.

Steve Livingstone has been appointed as an independent non-executive director from 18 July 2019. He has extensive major programme / project delivery experience in the civil nuclear, oil & gas and transportation sectors, particularly at the system completion and integration, commissioning and close out phases.

He was programme director for Heathrow Terminal 2 from 2012 to 2014, delivery director for Hinkley Point C from 2014 to 2016 and projects director and board member for Sellafield Ltd from 2016 to 2017.

Baroness Jo Valentine.

Baroness Jo Valentine has also been appointed as an independent non-executive director, but from 1 October 2019. Baroness Valentine’s career spans the city, industry, campaigning and regeneration. Her non-executive roles include vice chair of UCL and chair of Heathrow Southern Railway.

In addition, she ran London First for many years – joining the organisation in 1997 as managing director, becoming chief executive in 2003 before standing down in 2016.

Sarah Atkins.

Sarah Atkins was appointed as a Transport for London nominated non-executive director from 16 April 2019. An experienced commercial director in the rail industry, she held board positions with London Underground between 2003 until 2016, initially as legal director and later as commercial director.

Sarah has been involved in many major construction and signalling / rolling stock projects for the Underground including the Jubilee Line Extension and other line upgrades.

Tony Meggs.

Crossrail chairman Tony Meggs CB said: “I am delighted to welcome Sarah Atkins, Steve Livingstone and Baroness Jo Valentine to the Crossrail Board. These new appointments further strengthen the governance of the Crossrail project and provide the Board with additional expertise in commercial, major project commissioning and close out and business engagement during this critical and complex final phase. Everyone involved in the Crossrail project is fully focussed on ensuring the Elizabeth line is completed and brought into service as quickly as possible.”

Following these appointments, the membership of the Crossrail board will be:

  • Tony Meggs CB, chairman
  • Nick Raynsford, deputy chairman
  • Phil Gaffney, independent non-executive director
  • Steve Livingstone, independent non-executive director
  • Baroness Jo Valentine, independent non-executive director
  • Andy Pitt (Department for Transport nominee)
  • Sarah Atkins (Transport for London nominee)
  • Anne McMeel (Transport for London nominee)
  • Dr Nelson Ogunshakin OBE (Transport for London nominee)
  • Mark Wild, chief executive
  • Chris Sexton, deputy chief executive
  • David Hendry, chief finance officer.

Be the first to comment on "Three new directors for Crossrail"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.