Five entrants go forward to second phase of
Re-Imagining Railway Stations design competition

Five entrants have progressed to the second phase of this station design competition.

The Re-Imagining Railway Stations design competition, launched by Network Rail and RIBA Competitions in July 2020, now moves on to phase two.

The first phase of the competition attracted more than 200 entrants from 34 different countries. They were asked to reimagine the small to medium-sized stations that make up 80 per cent of all those on Britain’s railway.

More than 200 submissions were received from designers based in 34 different countries.

The judging panel has now selected five entrants to go on to the next phase. Each will receive an honorarium of £20,000 to develop their proposals for final judging in February 2021. At the end of that process, up to three will be chosen to be taken forward for development.

The five entrants who go forward to the next stage are:

  • ATKINS, London with PRD
  • Miguel Angel Carrasco Arquitetura, Rio de Janeiro
  • Pascall+Watson, London
  • 7N Architects, Edinburgh
  • WORKSHOP Architecture, Toronto
Anthony Dewar, Network Rail.

Anthony Dewar, head of buildings and architecture at Network Rail, commented: “At the launch of the competition, we were hoping to receive some creative and forward-thinking designs, and my fellow judging panellists and I were happily inundated with submissions that met that brief.

“It was a tough decision to narrow the field down to just a handful to go through to the next stage, but we were particularly impressed and intrigued by the concept proposals put forward by the selected five practices.

“We look forward to seeing how they will develop their ideas to create design solutions which will help Network Rail to improve the experience of both the communities and passengers it serves.”

Chris Heaton-Harris, Rail Minister.

Rail Minister Chris Heaton-Harris said: “It’s fantastic to see, from the sheer amount of entries to this competition – and from more than 30 countries – that this challenge has really captured the imagination of designers from right across the globe.

“Harnessing creativity and ambition through competitions like this will ensure the great spirit of design that can be seen in stations right across the country continues.

“I look forward to seeing these proposals as they progress, as part of our focus on delivering better journeys for passengers.”

The judging panel is led by Lucy Musgrave OBE (founding director of Publica) and includes:

  • Jonathan McDowell (director, Matter Architecture)
  • Chris Wise (senior director, Expedition Engineering)
  • Dinah Casson CBE (RDI designer)
  • Victoria Lee (lead programme manager, Design Council)
  • Paul Beaty-Pownall (managing director, BPR Architects Ltd)
  • Sahar Fikouhi (founder, ARki)
  • Anthony Dewar (professional head of buildings and architecture, Network Rail)
  • Frank Anatole (principal architect, Network Rail)
  • Ian Grimes (principal engineer, Network Rail)

Be the first to comment on "Five entrants go forward to second phase of
Re-Imagining Railway Stations design competition"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.